Utah Motorcycle Association
By far, the Basic Rider Course is the most popular rider education program we offer. Class prices start out at $200.00 and includes about two days of instruction; two classroom sessions and two sessions on our controlled riding range.
The course starts with the fundamental basics, beginning with the primary motorcycle controls and the proper procedure for starting the engine. By the end of the first day of riding, students will have learned and practiced shifting, stopping and turning. During the second day of riding, the class focuses on street skills. cornering judgment, evasive manoeuvres, limited space manoeuvres and much much more.
At the completion of the classroom sessions, students will take a 50-question written exam and at the end of the riding portion, students will participate in a riding evaluation.
Graduates will receive a completion card that carries with it many cool benefits. In most cases Utah Driver License Division will waive the riding portion of the motorcycle license exam for graduates who present their completion card. However, you will still be required to take and pass the 25-question written exam. Our Basic Rider Course is the best way to get the very desirable "M" (for motorcycle endorsement) on your drivers license.
Class size is limited to ten students so that each student gets as much attention from our instructors as possible. Basic Rider Courses are offered in a variety of schedules and typically take place every weekend and mid-week from March through October.
We provide the motorcycle and the helmet! But there are a few things you'll need to bring.
We provide water, but students will need to bring their own snacks and/or lunches. Most of the breaks we take are only about 10 minutes so that we can get in as much riding as possible.
Personal scooters are welcome in our Basic Rider Courses. Additional arrangements may have to be made to ensure we can accommodate scooters. When requesting course dates please let us know you wish to take your scooter through our course. Student owned scooters will be required to pass a basic safety inspection given the day of the riding class.
To prepare for the course, we recommend drinking extra water the day before the class and getting as much sleep as you can. For many students learning the new skills and being outside all day can be quite tiring. We also recommend riding a bicycle as much as you can before the class. It's a great way get reacquainted with two-wheeled vehicles.
In 2008 Utah adopted a tiered motorcycle license system. The idea behind the law was to prevent brand new riders from starting out on large, powerful motorcycles and to encourage learning to ride on smaller, lighter bikes. This is similar to licensing regulations used in most European countries.
When you take the Basic Rider Course on our 250cc trainer motorcylces, successful completion will waive the riding portion of the license test for an up to 649cc endorsement. To get an endorsement for motorcycles above 649cc you have three options;
Re-tests must be scheduled ahead of time.
Class size is limited to ten students for riding sessions to allow us to provide additional personal attention and coaching. Fees, schedules, locations, and courses are subject to change without notice. Classes with an insufficient number of students may be canceled. Students who fail to show up for class will be assessed a $40 rescheduling fee. Cancellations will be charged a $40 refund fee. No refunds offered after a class starts.