You may bring your personal motorcycle for the second day of riding. You will need a Motorcycle Permit, insurance and registration. Your bike will have to pass a basic safety inspection at class to be sure it is in safe operating condition.
Bring your scooter to any of our courses and receive all the same education and benefits. You will need to bring a Motorcycle Permit, insurance and registration. Your scooter will have to pass a basic safety inspection at class to be sure it is in safe operating condition.
Successful completion of our Basic or Experienced Rider Course will waive riding exam for Utah and most other states. You should read the Utah Motorcycle Operator Handbook before taking the written test at The Utah Driver License Division. Online handbook link: https://dld.utah.gov/wp-content/uploads/sites/17/2015/01/Motorcycle-Handbook-Combined-2016.pdf
For more info on Utah Motorcycle Licensing:
In 2008 Utah adopted a tiered motorcycle license system. The idea behind the law was to prevent new riders from starting out on powerful motorcycles and to encourage learning to ride on smaller bikes. This is like licensing used in most European countries. More info on our Licensing Page.
The Basic Rider Course (BRC): Cost is now $230
Experienced Rider Course (BRC2): Cost is now $80 no additional cost for License waiver test.
Private Basic Rider Course: $350 for one student or $300 each for groups of two or more
Private Experienced Course:$200 per student (additional $50 if we need to provide the bike)
The Basic Rider Course is for brand new or returning riders. We start with the primary controls and progress through very basic riding skills, such as riding in a straight line, shifting, turning and stopping. And that’s just the first day. You must be able to ride a bicycle prior to class. If you have never ridden before get as much bicycle riding in before class as possible.
You do not need a motorcycle license or permit to take the Basic Rider Course (BRC) unless you plan to bring your own motorcycle for the second day of riding or to test on. To take the Experienced Rider Course (ERC) you do need to have a valid motorcycle license or a valid motorcycle learners permit. More info on Licensing…..
We have a wide variety of bikes to fit the stature of most everybody. If you have a unique build or situation that we should be made aware of, you may want to contact us for more specific information.
You will need to get a waiver signed by your parent or guardian prior to class. If you attend with no waiver you will be asked to reschedule and will not be permitted to ride in class.
This does not happen often but if it does it’s ok! We are here to help! Students are usually asked to come back and attend one or two riding sessions, this is called a Re-Ride. Most re-riders are successful and extremely confident after the second riding session. The cost is $40 and you can contact the office to schedule.
We are so excited that the number of women riders has been on the rise in Utah! We usually have anywhere from 40% – 60% women per class. We also have several female instructors and occasionally hold ladies-only classes.
None of our courses will waive the state’s motorcycle written test. Our class materials go over most of the information needed but you should always read the Utah Motorcycle Operator Handbook before taking the written test at The Utah Driver License Division. Online handbook link: https://dld.utah.gov/wp-content/uploads/sites/17/2015/01/Motorcycle-Handbook-Combined-2016.pdf